Results | Info-feed | Closing ceremony
The official hotline of the World Championships is available: +36/1-90-70-500

Preview, women’s 25 km

0 0

Upcoming events

Minute by minute

Team USA won in men's 4x100m medley relay

Team USA won in women's 4x100m medley relay

HOSSZÚ Katinka (HUN) won in women's 400m IM

LACOURT Camille (FRA) won in men's 50m backstroke

SJOSTROM Sarah (SWE) won in women's 50m freestyle

KALISZ Chase (USA) won in men's 400m IM

KING Lilly (USA) won in women's 50m breaststroke

Men's High diving results: 1. Steve Lo Bue (USA) 397.15 2. Michal Navratil (CZE) 390.90 3. Alessandro De Rose (ITA) 379.65

LEDECKY Katie (USA) won in women's 800m freestyle

SJOSTROM Sarah (SWE) just broke the World Record in women's 50m freestyle semi-final



Tickets are available for more than 200 events! Get yours and don't miss your favourite athlets competing!

Buy a ticket


22.8 ° 19 km/h
14.4 ° 15 km/h
14 ° 20 km/h
14.5 ° 15 km/h
15.4 ° 12 km/h
16.1 ° 22 km/h
16.4 ° 9 km/h


16.7 ° 20 km/h
13.3 ° 24 km/h
13.4 ° 15 km/h
13.6 ° 14 km/h
11.6 ° 14 km/h
16.1 ° 27 km/h
17.1 ° 23 km/h

The longest course open water race for men and women alike will take place on the last day of the open water swimming tournament. The 25 km race is the event which has featured the World Championships programme for the longest (since 1991).

The winners of the last four editions of the World Championships will enter women’s 25km open water swimming race: Brazilian winner Ana Marcela Cunha (2011, 2015), Italian gold medallist Martina Grimaldi who won in 2013, as well as the winner of 2009, German Angela Maurer. Hungarian fans may put their hope in Anna Olasz, silver medallist in 2015.


·         Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA) has won women's 25km in 2011 and 2015 and could become the third woman to win three gold medals in this event, after Edith van Dijk (NED, 4).

·         Angela Maurer (GER) and Britta Kamrau-Corestein (GER) are the other two women on two gold medals in this event.

·         Marcela Cunha can become the second woman to win this event at back-to-back World Championships, after Van Dijk (2002-2003).

·         Maurer (G2-S3-B4) has won a record nine total medals in women's 25km, claiming her first in 2000 (bronze) and her last medal in 2015 (also bronze).

·         Maurer was 40 years old in 2015 to become the eldest medal winner in this event.

·         Germany has won most medals in this event, altogether 15, including four gold medals.

·         Netherlands has won the most world titles in women's 25km, five, the last one in 2010.

·         Hungary has claimed two silver medals in this event, with Anna Olasz's silver as the most recent from 2015.

·         The only time the host country won the world title in women's 25km was in 1991, when Australia's Shelley Taylor-Smith won in Perth.

·         The only other medal for a host country in this event was a bronze by Italy's Federica Vitale in Rome in 2009.