Tickets are now available! Click here to get your own ticket!

Upcoming events

Minute by minute


Tickets are available for more than 200 events! Get yours and don't miss your favourite athlets competing!

Buy a ticket


5.9 ° 32 km/h
3.3 ° 25 km/h
6.9 ° 45 km/h
2.4 ° 29 km/h
3.4 ° 23 km/h
3.5 ° 31 km/h
3.8 ° 29 km/h


6 ° 40 km/h
4.1 ° 38 km/h
8.7 ° 51 km/h
3.4 ° 35 km/h
5.1 ° 32 km/h
7.8 ° 35 km/h
6.5 ° 33 km/h

VISA/Reaching Hungary

Download application form:

Choose the Hungarian mission nearest to you:

Further consular info on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Hungary:


Visa Information


General information for entering Hungary

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on 21 December, 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are valid also for Hungary, and visas/residence permits issued by Hungarian authorities are – as a general rule – also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

Schengen Member States: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway, Switzerland, Lichtenstein.



Where to submit a visa application?

Uniform visa applications have to be submitted at the Hungarian Embassy/Consulate General in your country or at the Embassy/ Consulate General representing Hungary on visa issuance.


Which of the Hungarian consulates is responsible for issuing a visa?

  1. where the applicant resides legally and has a habitual residence (the applicant is a citizen of the esteemed country or holds a permit that makes a stay longer than 3 months possible – e.g. residence permit),
  2. where the applicant does not have a habitual residence or right for long term stay, but at the moment stays legally there and gave reasons for applying at that consulate. This is not a personal right, it depends on the consulate’s consideration and can only happen for an extremely good cause.


The stay is legal if, according to the third country’s law, the applicant is entitled to stay within the consulate’s authorized area for short stay (e.g. with visa) or for longer stay (e.g. with residence permit).


If there is no Hungarian consulate in the country where the applicant has his/her habitual residence a Member State may represent Hungary regarding visa issuance, in the framework of an existing visa representation agreement.


In case there is no Hungarian representation, neither another Member State issuing visas on behalf of Hungary in the country where the applicant has his/her habitual residence, a visa application can be submitted at any Hungarian Embassy/Consulate General outside the Schengen Area.


Who can submit a visa application?

The application should be submitted personally by the applicant.



Important information

  1. Applications shall be lodged no more than three months before the start of the intended visit.
  2. The decision about the admissible applications as main rule must be made within 15 calendar days counted from the submission. Therefore it is advised to submit the application earlier than 15 calendar days before the planned departure. The consulate does not take any responsibility for delayed submission and for therefore failed travels.
  3. That period may be extended up to a maximum of 30 calendar days, and exceptionally maximum of 60 calendar days in special cases.



Please be informed that the Tables on the recognition of travel documents by Hungary published on the website of DG HOME, under the link:


Documents needed for visa applications

  1. Completed visa application form;
  2. Travel document with at least two empty pages. The passport should have been issued within the last 10 years.  The passport must be valid for at least 3 months beyond the date on which you intend to leave the Schengen territory.
  3. Invitation letter issued by FINA BUDAPEST 2017 OC
  4. Travel medical insurance (covering emergency medical, hospitalization and repatriation. The minimum cover should be of 30.000 EUR. This insurance must be valid for the entire Schengen area and throughout the duration of the stay)
  5. Travel itinerary
  6. planned accommodation




Visa fee: 60 EUR per person, if applicable

  • The Hungarian Diplomatic Missions will provide visas free of charge.
  • In the case, if visa is issued by other Schengen Area Member States the visa fee will be reimbursed (only upon presentation of the receipt and a copy of the visa).


The visa fee is EUR 35 for applicants belonging to one of the following categories:

  • Children from the age of six and below the age of 12 years.
  • The beneficiary of a visa facilitation agreement (as below).
  • Kosovar citizens


If the country of origin and the EU have signed a visa facilitation agreement further exceptions may be given, e.g.: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cape Verde, Russian Federation, Ukraine, Serbia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Montenegro, Moldova and Georgia. For detailed information concerning these agreements please contact the competent Hungarian foreign representations in the respective countries.


Contact information of the OC:


Telephone number: +36-1-22-00-300

e-mail address:

Annex - Visa free entry


Citizens of countries/territories/entities listed in Annex II (“positive list”) of the 539/2001/EC Regulation may travel to Hungary without visa:

•    EU-Member States
•    Albania (only holders of biometric passports)
•    Andorra
•    Antigua and Barbuda 
•    Argentina 
•    Aruba
•    Australia 
•    Bahamas 
•    Barbados 
•    Bosnia and Herzegovina (only holders of biometric passports) 
•    Brazil 
•    British overseas territories*: Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Gibraltar, Turks and Coicos Islands
•    Brunei Darussalam 
•    Canada 
•    Chile 
•    Colombia
•    Costa Rica  
•    Dominica
•    former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (only holders of biometric passports)
•    Curacao
•    Faroe Islands
•    Georgia
•    Grenada 
•    Guam
•    Guatemala 
•    Holy See 
•    Honduras 
•    Hong Kong (only holders of a “Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” passport)
•    Iceland
•    Israel 
•    Japan 
•    Kiribati
•    Lichtenstein
•    Macao (only holders of a “Regiao Administrativa Especial de Macau” passport) 
•    Malaysia 
•    Marsall Islands
•    Mauritius 
•    Mexico 
•    Micronesia
•    Moldova (only holders of biometric passports) 
•    Monaco 
•    Montenegro (only holders of biometric passport) 
•    Nauru
•    New Zealand 
•    Nicaragua 
•    Northern Mariana
•    Norway
•    Palau
•    Panama 
•    Paraguay 
•    Peru
•    Puerto Rico
•    Saint Kitts and Nevis
•    Saint Lucia
•    Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
•    Salvador
•    Samoa
•    Saint Marteen
•    San Marino 
•    Serbia (only holders of biometric passports) 
•    Seychelles 
•    Singapore
•    Solomon Islands
•    South Korea 
•    Switzerland
•    Taiwan (only holders of passports issued by Taiwan which include an identity card number) 
•    Timor-Leste
•    Tonga
•    Trinidad and Tobago
•    Tuvalu
•    United Arab Emirates
•    United States of America 
•    Uruguay
•    US Samoa
•    US Virgin Islands
•    Vanuatu
•    Venezuela

*509/2014/EU regulation: 1. British nationals (Overseas); 2. British overseas territories citizens (BOTC); 3. British overseas citizens (BOC); 4. British protected persons (BPP); 5. British subjects (BS) can travel to the EU visa free