Results | Info-feed | Closing ceremony
The official hotline of the World Championships is available: +36/1-90-70-500

Review: Swimming, Day 5

0 0

Upcoming events

Minute by minute

Team USA won in men's 4x100m medley relay

Team USA won in women's 4x100m medley relay

HOSSZÚ Katinka (HUN) won in women's 400m IM

LACOURT Camille (FRA) won in men's 50m backstroke

SJOSTROM Sarah (SWE) won in women's 50m freestyle

KALISZ Chase (USA) won in men's 400m IM

KING Lilly (USA) won in women's 50m breaststroke

Men's High diving results: 1. Steve Lo Bue (USA) 397.15 2. Michal Navratil (CZE) 390.90 3. Alessandro De Rose (ITA) 379.65

LEDECKY Katie (USA) won in women's 800m freestyle

SJOSTROM Sarah (SWE) just broke the World Record in women's 50m freestyle semi-final



Tickets are available for more than 200 events! Get yours and don't miss your favourite athlets competing!

Buy a ticket


24.3 ° 8 km/h
28.7 ° 4 km/h
26.6 ° 10 km/h
28.2 ° 10 km/h
23.5 ° 20 km/h
24.4 ° 20 km/h
24.7 ° 18 km/h


23.5 ° 11 km/h
19.5 ° 9 km/h
25.1 ° 7 km/h
26 ° 9 km/h
22.7 ° 32 km/h
24.3 ° 20 km/h
24.7 ° 19 km/h

Men's 200m Individual Medley

Chase Kalisz (USA) continued United States' winning streak in this event. Michael Phelps won it in 2003, 2005 and 2007 and Ryan Lochte claimed the gold medal in the men's 200m individual medley at the last four world championships.

Swimmers from the United States have now won this event a record eight times, followed by Hungarians (3).

Kosuke Hagino (JPN) finished second in this event for the second time, after he also claimed the silver medal in 2013. Hagino joined László Cseh (HUN) as only swimmers to have claimed two silver medals in the men's 200m individual medley.

Wang Shun (CHN) claimed the bronze medal, the same medal he took home in this event at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games and the 2015 World Championships.

While Hagino joined László Cseh as only swimmers to have claimed two silver medals in the men's 200m individual medley, Shun and Cseh are now the only men to have claimed two bronze medals in this event.


Men's 100m Freestyle

Caeleb Remel Dressel (USA) became the sixth swimmer from the United States to win the men's 100m freestyle and the first since Anthony Ervin (USA) in 2001.

US swimmers who previously won this event: Jim Montgomery (USA, 1973), Andy Coan (USA, 1975), David McCagg (USA, 1978), Matt Biondi (USA, 1986 & 1991) and Anthony Ervin (2001).

United States have now won this event seven times. Russia follow with three wins.

Nathan Adrian (USA) took home the silver medal, marking only the second 1-2 finish by swimmers from the same country in this event at the world championships, after 1978 when David McCagg and Jim Montgomery finished first and second for United States respectively.

Adrian has now won four medals (G1-S1-B2) in this event at world championships and Olympic Games combined. Only Aleksandr Popov (RUS, G5-S1-B0) won more.

Pieter van den Hoogenband (NED, G2-S2-B0) and Jim Montgomery (USA, G2-S1-B1) also claimed four medals in the men's 100m freestyle at these two tournaments.

Mehdy Metella (FRA) claimed the bronze medal, meaning France are still waiting for their first gold medal in this event (S3-B3).

Previous French medallists at the world championhips in this event: silver for Michel Rousseau (FRA, 1973), Stephan Caron (FRA, 1986) and Alain Bernard (FRA, 2009) and bronze for Frédérick Bousquet (FRA, 2009) and William Meynard (FRA, 2011).

Metella's sister Malia Metella (FRA) claimed the silver medal in the women's 100m Freestyle at the 2005 world championships.

Florent (FRA) and Laure Manaudou (FRA) are other French siblings who previously won medals at the world championships. 


Women's 50m Backstroke

Etiene Medeiros (BRA) became the first ever South American world champion in any gender in any backstroke event.

This is the third backstroke medal for Brazil at the world championships, after Medeiros’ silver medal in 50m backstroke in 2015 and Romulo Arantes’ (BRA) bronze medal in men’s 100m backstroke in 1978.

Fu Yuanhui (CHN) took home the silver medal, claiming a record third medal in this event at the world championships (G1-S2).

Aliaksandra Herasimenia (BLR) became the first European woman to finish on the 50m backstroke podium since Anastasiia Fesikova (RUS), who won the world title in 2011.

Herasimenia is 31 years and 208 days old today. Only two women won individual medals at the world championships while older: Therese Alshammar (SWE, three medals) and Marleen Veldhuis (NED, one medal).

Alshammer won the gold medal in the 50m freestyle at the age of 33-339 in 2011 and claimed silver in the 50m freestyle in 2009 aged 31-341 and silver in the50m butterfly in 2011 aged 33-338. Veldhuis claimed the bronze medal in 50m freestyle in 2011 aged 32-032.


Women's 200m Butterfly

Katinka Hosszú (bronze) claimed her 11th world championship medal in individual events: G6-S0-B5, a new record. Yulia Efimova (RUS, G4-S4-B2) and Katie Ledecky (USA, G9-S1-B0) are both on 10.

For Hosszú it was her third medal in this event at the world championships after bronze in 2009 and 2013. She now shares the record of three medals in women's 200m butterfly with Jessicah Schipper (AUS), Otylia Jedrzejczak (POL) and Liu Zige (CHN).

Mireia Belmonte (ESP) is now Olympic and world champion in this event. She became the third swimmer with a world title for Spain, alongside Nina Zhivanevskaya (ESP, 50m backstroke in 2003) and Martin López-Zubero (ESP, 200m backstroke in 1991 & 100m backstroke in 1994).

Belmonte became the first reigning Olympic champion to claim the world title in this event since Otylia Jedrzejczak (POL) won in 2005 after claiming Olympic gold in Athens in 2004.

Franziska Hentke (GER) became the first medallist for Germany in this event at world championships since Annika Mehlhorn (GER) took silver in 2001. Hentke is the first female medallist from Germany in any individual world championships event since Britta Steffen (GER) won the 50m freestyle in Rome in 2009.


Women's 4x200m Freestyle

The United States claimed a seventh gold medal in this event. Team USA has now finished on the podium in 11 of the 13 editions of this event at the world championships, only missing out in 1991 and 2001.

Katie Ledecky (USA) joins Katie Hoff (USA) and Missy Franklin (USA) on a record three world titles in this event. She has now won a women's record 13 gold medals at the world championships.

China takes a seventh total medal (G2-S1-B4) in this event at world championships and only trail United States's 11 (G7-S3-B1).

Australia reached the podium in this event for the sixth time (G0-S4-B2) and for the first time since taking silver in 2013.